Some Thanks Are In Order

When I wrote “Signs I’m Starting To Become An Adult,” I never expected it to attract any attention. I thought some of my friends might read it, and that was a big might. I expected 50 hits, tops. Imagine my surprise when I checked my dashboard at 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday and saw more than 1,000. I think it got around 4,000 by the end of the day. Then there were the comments. I got, literally, hundreds of comments, which were 99.9% positive/insightful.

It’s nice to get such encouraging feedback. Actually, it’s nice to get any feedback. The fact that 1,000 or so words can elicit such a reaction is amazing. It’s also reassuring to know that other people are going through (or have gone through) the same thing.

I guess what I’m trying to say is: thank you. Thank you for reading. Thank you for commenting. Thanking you for linking. Thank you for writing. Just plain, thank you.

Also, in the next couple of days I’m going to post something about an unlikely writing tool/influence. I don’t want to say anymore than that, but stay tuned.

Until then, please enjoy this mashup of two of my favorite pop culture icons:

The Green Dragon Lantern

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Some Thanks Are In Order

  1. mooreclick says:

    I especially appreciate that your follow-up to signs you’re becoming an adult is a comic. So, you know, maybe not TOO adult.

    • kchellouf says:

      Hey my friends joke that I’m really a 70 year-old woman in a 25 year-old’s body, but the plan is to still read comics when I’m actually 70! Might need giant glasses, though.

  2. cmxstevenson says:

    Did WordPress not tell you that your article was featured on Freshly Pressed? I found it there. Well done! (Welcome to adulthood.)

  3. alaugh says:

    Man, I just thought that you were one of those people who got hundreds of comments on every post. Congrats anyway! I enjoy your blog and I hope for the same eventual success for myself!
    Alex Laughlin

  4. jqtothemax says:

    Congrats! My blog too was featured on Freshly Pressed just yesterday and I got almost 1500 views and I was blown away. I never thought this many people would ever see what I’ve written.

    Anyways, I just wanted to say that I am adding you to my blogroll as you seem to be the male, white version of me (haha), as I’m 23 going on 24, just graduated from a Master’s program hoping to land a job so I don’t have to move back in with my parents by the end of the month. Also, my blog tends to be about pop culture as I’m a pop culture fanatic and love to share my rants and raves 🙂

    Good luck with everything!

    – JQ

  5. Nanda says:

    Green Lantern reminds me Sheldon Cooper. hahah.
    Keep writing! 🙂

    See ya!

Leave a Reply

