5 TV Shows I Don’t Care For (That Everyone Else Likes)

I spend a lot of time watching TV, probably too much time. So, inevitably, I’ll be engaged in conversation, and someone will say, “Don’t you love that show?” Then I have to say that I, in fact, do not care for their favorite show. So I decided to compile a list of shows I don’t like that my friends, family and critics like.

Anyway, here’s the list:

How I Met Your Mother

I think I was a sophomore in college when everyone kept telling me I had to see this show. And this summer I found out my brother was a fan of the show. Well, I don’t care what my friends and family say, this show is way overrated.

Don’t get me wrong, I like individuals from the show. I find Jason Segel hilarious. Forgetting Sarah Marshall is one of the best comedies in recent memory. The problem is that he basically plays himself  in all his Judd Apatow related work. But in the show his character is the complete opposite of every other character he has played, so it’s obvious that he’s acting. It’s forced.With a good performance you shouldn’t know you’re watching a performance.

 

Best breakup scene ever.

Then there’s Neil Patrick Harris, who had one of the best cameos ever in Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle. Except in the show, his character, Barney, is an insufferable douche. Alyson Hannigan is also in the show for some reason, and she just grinds my gears, exactly like she did in the American Pie series.

Not even Bob Saget’s narration does it for me.  But that’s all ancillary to my main beef. It feels so sitcom-y. The laugh track, the supposedly outrageous events that aren’t really that outrageous, the jokes and gags you see a mile a way. Basically it’s a hipper version of Two and Half Men.

Commence judging.

The Big Bang Theory

This is another show that feels extremely sitcom-y. Coincidence they’re both on CBS? Doubtful.  So most of what I said about How I Met Your Mother goes for this show too.

Believe me, I’m a dork so I appreciate all the superhero and sci-fi references, but the show pretends like it has a new, fresh premise when it doesn’t. I mean, no hot chick could possibly put up with a few dweebs even if they’re good-hearted because all attractive women are terribly shallow. But wait, one does! How shocking! That has never happened ever!

It’s Revenge of the Nerds and every John Cusack movie from the ’80s, only they did it more than 20 years ago.

Oh, and they were funny.

True Blood

I don’t think I really have to explain this pick.

Vampires.

The show revolves around vampires.

It wouldn’t have been a problem 10 or 20 years ago, but now Hollywood has wussified vampires and turned them into blank vessels for 15-year-old (or older) girls  to project their fantasies onto. I will admit that this show has much more artistic merit than Twilight but it’s still not helping Dracula’s street cred.

Vampires used to be cool when I was a kid. They were cunning. They were evil. They were grandiose. They didn’t frequent hillbilly dive bars, and they definitely didn’t sparkle (yes I know that’s Twilight not True Blood).

I grew up playing Castlevania, a video game franchise that epitomized that Gothic brand of cool. It’s very near and dear to me, and I hate the fact that the Belmonts, Dracula and Alucard are now lumped in with these modern-day, sissy vampires. The only redeeming factor of the show, in my mind at least, is Anna Paquin.

I'd let Rogue touch me. Unfortunately, she would only absorb my ability to turn off women by making X-Men references.

The Office

Everyone seems to love this show. People have actually ditched their plans with me to watch The Office. I’m not sure if that says something impressive about The Office or something sad about me (probably both).

I’m saying that when the show first aired it was almost like a cult. A really awkward cult.

Apparently, I showed up late to the party and missed the Kool-Aid.

What? You don't like The Office?

This is another case where I like individuals in the show, but I don’t like the show on the whole. Steve Carell is great. The 40 Year Old Virgin is, without a doubt, one of my favorite comedies, and his early work on The Daily Show helped propel the show to where it is today.

Carell plays awkward, oblivious characters very well; he’s made a career out of it. But in The Office he’s oblivious and awkward, but not endearing. There’s no subtle charm or innocence that you find in his other characters. I also like John Krasinski, Craig Robinson and BJ Novak, just not in The Office.

And the Awkward pauses. Enough with them already. I get it, you’re not like traditional sitcoms.  You’re different; You don’t need the laugh track as a crutch.

I’m aware that the pauses and awkward moments are used to create tension and draw attention to the absurdity of the situation, but they just slow the show down for me.  Every time I’m kind of getting into an episode or when I’m on the verge of cracking a smile, Dwight doesn’t know something everyone else does and then the camera cuts to four different people for reaction shots and no one says anything for  a couple of minutes.

When that happens, I usually get bored and change the channel.

The Hills

I’m not sure that this show  should even count, seeing as it’s on MTV, and they’ve started catering to the dregs of society (Jersey Shore, Teen Mom, etc…). Also, I’m pretty sure straight, 23-year-old, gamer, sports-loving males are  not their target demographic. But I felt like I had to pick one show from MTV, and I picked the show that simultaneously pissed me off the most and entertained me the least.

You might also be thinking, “does anyone really like that show?” Yes. The answer is yes. I’ve heard “It’s actually a really good show, you should give it a chance,” countless times from many-a-girl in response to my male friends’ criticisms.

I have no idea why people are so interested in The Hills. It’s  just a bunch of hyper-shallow WASPs complaining about problems, that aren’t really problems, and creating drama where there was none.  It might have the most vapid characters of any show on TV, reality or scripted. Seriously, I feel like I would kill less brain cells downing a bottle of Jim Beam than watching a season of this show.

It’s also scripted, which would be fine if that were made clear. But it’s not. That’s a dangerous line to walk especially when your core demographic is impressionable pre-teen and teenage girls. They walk it about this well.

Now a generation of teenage girls is going to think this BS is what passes for everyday problems. If that weren’t terrible enough, the girls in The Hills might be some of the worst female role models this side of Courtney Love. The day that teenagers started idolizing that Frankenwhore, Heidi Montag, is the day a little bit of my soul died.

So there you have it, five shows I don’t like that everyone else does. Feel free to comment and tell me I’m idiot. However, it won’t change my opinions.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “5 TV Shows I Don’t Care For (That Everyone Else Likes)

  1. Deane says:

    you’re an idiot.

  2. drphotos85 says:

    I totally quote your opinion over “The Hills”. I have never felt a particular affection over “The Office” either. It really felt awkward to me.
    “Big Bang Theory” is being broadcasted now for the first time in Italy; I saw one episode today and I have found it kind of funny, but it’s structure feels old. Nothing new under the sun.
    The first Italian “True Blood” season is about to begin on MTV Italy. This whole vampire-chic trend is getting on my nerves, I think I will avoid watching it.
    I have never seen “How I met your mother”, I think it is available only through Satellite pay-per-view here overseas which I do not have. According to your article, I guess I can live without it.

    D.

Leave a Reply

