My Favorite TV Show Theme Songs

Pete and Pete- “Hey Sandy” by Polaris

I loved Pete and Pete when I was kid because it was so quirky and weird. Pete and Pete was more reminiscent of me and my brother than the kids on Step by Step or Boy Meets World, and I liked that.

But I appreciate the show even more as an adult because of all the great guest stars (L.L. Cool J, Steve Buschemi, Michael Stipe) and subtle references that I didn’t get as a kid.

That catchy theme song always grabbed me as a kid, and it still does as an adult.

I might or might not have this song in my iTunes library (might).

Kids in the Hall- “Having an Average Weekend” by Shadowy Men On A Shadowy Planet

I’ve always preferred Kids in the Hall to Saturday Night Live. Again, it’s probably because it’s quirky and weird. It could also be that it wasn’t as well-known in the States, and I felt privy to this secret comedy goldmine that my friends didn’t know about.

The theme song is an instrumental. It’s simple. It’s clean. It’s catchy. The black and white clips of everyday life in Canada (their Canadian) are perfect visual accompaniments to the song, too.

It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia“Temptation Sensation” by Heinz Kiessling

Always Sunny might be my favorite show on TV right now.

I love the opening credits, which were shot on a cab ride through the city. I like the theme song (and all the music in the show) because it’s classy and tranquil, which is the exact opposite of all the main characters on the show. I love that Schizophrenic  juxtaposition.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a clip of the opening credits. FX is seems to be really adamant about keeping clips of the show off YouTube. This is the best I could do:

The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air- “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air” by Will Smith

I jumped on the Fresh Prince bandwagon pretty late. I started watching the show in college when it was on Nick at Night. My habit of procrastination combined with my natural propensity for staying up late meant I did a lot of homework between the hours of 1 a.m. and 3 a.m. It also meant that I watched a lot of Fresh Prince.

By the end of my senior year of college I had the theme song memorized.

The X-Files- “The X-Files” by Mark Snow

This is one of my favorite shows of all time, and I still contend it’s the best sci-fi show of all time, even better than The Twilight Zone and Lost (Especially Lost).

The whistling and the echo are just plain eerie and set the mood for most episodes, except for the comedic episodes David Duchovny wrote.

And you have to love the techno and club remixes. Actually, come to think of it, those are the only techno and club songs I like.

Hawaii Five-O- “Hawaii Five-O Theme”

Like I could write a list about theme songs without mentioning Hawaii Five-O. My dad watches a lot of old TV shows on TV Land and a couple local channels, so every now and then I caught part of Hawaii Five-O. I also have a vague recollection of my babysitter watching this show when I was a kid.

I can’t tell you much about the show, but I can recognize the theme song after about two notes.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “My Favorite TV Show Theme Songs

  1. ryan says:

    Growning Pains maybe?

Leave a Reply

