The Final (Zombie) Countdown: My Zombie Apocalypse Soundtrack

So, this is one of those stupid Facebook memes where you put your iTunes on shuffle and each subsequent song represents a song on your fictional zombie movie soundtrack.

I’ll admit I’ve done this sort of thing before, but I always end up with one or two perfect songs, and then the rest are just outrageous. I started thinking that it would be much more fun for me to actually pick the songs based off the list provided. So that’s what I did.

1. Overall Theme- “No One Knows” by Queens of the Stone Age

I can’t put my finger on why this is the perfect overall theme for a zombie apocalypse movie, but it is. Something about QOTSA’s self-described “robot rock” sound just fits with an apocalypse, zombies or not. I guess you could tie the song title to the confusion and panic that would likely follow an undead uprising, if you’re an over achiever.

2. Killing The First Zombie- “Army of Zombies” by Lars Frederiksen and the Bastards

Do really need to explain this choice? No? Okay cool.

3. Chased By A Horde- “Leaving Here” by The High Numbers A.K.A- The Who

The title of the song says it all, but it would also be a nice change from the two previous songs, which are much heavier. Also, I think it has kind of retro-kitsch factor, like something Tarantino would use.

4. Killing a Loved One- “Explode and Make Up” by Sugar

This song is about losing someone, albeit due to a break up, but the lyrics, especially the first two verses, are particularly poignant.

Heart holds mouth to words
Said it’s gone beyond the line this time
Eyes twitch close
Numb the lights turned out I’m out

The cold is in my bones
Said it’s gone beyond the line this time
Shake a little off the deep end
Tell me when it’s over now

Not to mention, you can plainly hear the pain and emotion in Bob Mould’s voice on this song, which is just what a scene like this needs.

Sorry I couldn’t find a video that wasn’t a cover.Go to Grooveshark and listen to it.

5. Finding a Group of Survivors- “Ache” by Jawbreaker

Okay, so I’ll freely admit that when I started writing this list I intended to sneak Jawbreaker in somewhere. But the general tone of this song–the feelings of loneliness and despair–are perfect for this scene. I think one lyric is particularly appropriate: “These days the people I love are spread so far apart.”

 

6. Meeting a New Love Interest- “Bushwick Blues” by Delta Spirit

This is certainly a boy-meets-girl song, but it’s not whiny or mushy. The zombie apocalypse has no time for whiny, mushy emo songs, only songs with real heart.

 

7. Making a Final Stand-”John the Baptist” by The Afghan Whigs

I was tempted to pick “I Won’t Back Down” by Tom Petty, but that seemed too on-the-nose. I picked an Afghan Whigs song because not only do they have a little panache, but it builds up and has some highs and lows that would match well with an epic final battle.

Again, no video. Again, go to Grooveshark.

8. Thinking We’ve Survived it All- “In the Midnight Hour” by The Jam

I know there are a thousand covers of this song, but I like The Jam’s the best. I think this is similar to my pick for number 3. It adds a little retro flair.

 

9. Finding a Bite Mark- “Tame” by Pixies

You might think, hey, wouldn’t “Wave of Mutilation,” the song after “Tame” on Doolittle, be a better choice? No, the only thing it has going for it is the title. Kim Deal’s bass line and Black Francis’ primal screams are a much better fit.

 

10. End Credits- “Toxic Toast” by The Mighty Mighty Bosstones

The piano, which is a little unusual for one of their songs, would work well over the credits. Also, it’s not too light or too heavy; it’s nice and balanced.



One thought on “The Final (Zombie) Countdown: My Zombie Apocalypse Soundtrack

Leave a Reply

