5 Things the 90s Tried to Convince Us Were Cool

Often, time is unkind. Looking back at the past, sometimes it’s hard to believe what was en vogue. This is evident if you ever had the displeasure of sitting through one of VH1’s numerous I Love the ___ shows.

 I thought I would take a look back at the decade I grew up in, the 90s, to see what passed as cool, but was most definitely not.

5. Comically Baggy Pants

tmg-article_default_mobile

In the early to mid 90s, other pizza-faced adolescents would have taunted you mercilessly for wearing the slim and straight-leg jeans that are so popular today.

I’m sure others my age remember how cool, for some reason, Jnco Jeans were. They latched on to the baggy concept with a tenacity and enthusiasm that made their product simultaneously successful and absurd. Apparently, teenagers in the 90s took a look at clowns and thought “that’s the look!”

 

In fact, I recently watched an old skate video from the early 90s (you should too, to get an idea of what I’m talking about) and it looked like everyone was wearing jeans at least four sizes too large.

So there you have it moms and dads of 90s kids, you can officially say “I told you so” now. I only wish I hadn’t been a part of this stupid, stupid trend. (To be clear I didn’t have Jncos, just jeans that were way too baggy)

4. Teal

The 90s was a big decade for that color in between blue and green.

It’s a little known fact that every expansion team in the 90s had to attempt to shoehorn teal or purple into their team colors. For example: the San Jose Sharks, Florida Marlins (which at least actually fits into the local flavor or Miami), Jacksonville Jaguars, etc..

Teal’s PR must have leaned hard on auto manufacturers as well because the 90s was the only decade where a metallic jade paint job was an available option. I would know because my car, a 1995 Chevy, is that ridiculous color.

But, frankly, my opinion is: get off the fence. Pick green or pick blue.

3. Super Sitcommy Sitcoms

I grew up watching Home Improvement, and I still watch it sometimes on Nick at Nite. After watching some other Nick at Nite programming, it became obvious to me that people in the 90s loved terrible sitcoms.

TV executives in the 90s triumphed laugh tracks, tired plots and obvious and usually mediocre jokes. Some networks are still continuing that shameful tradition *cough* CBS *cough* Edgy and innovative sitcoms like Arrested Development or It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia never would have aired 15 years ago.

Actually, some of the best TV on the air at the time was on Nickelodeon and was aimed at kids. Shows like Pete and Pete, Clarissa Explains it All and Ren and Stimpy were miles ahead of most of the crap on network TV. Sure, there were a few gems such as Seinfeld and Frasier but for the most part, 90s network TV was full of schlock like Friends.

2. Tribal Tattoos

Tattoos became much more mainstream in the 90s. However, increased unoriginality came with increased acceptance. By the late 90s, every frat guy with a Coors Light habit and access to his parent’s credit card had some sort of tribal armband around his bicep.

It’s a shame that people partially responsible for the increased acceptance of tattoos were the same guys who can’t find Polynesia on a map and think the Maori is an SUV made by Subaru.

Affliction and Tapout have allowed the trend to live on to the present, but there’s no way it will last much longer…I hope.

1. Vanilla Ice

Need I say more:

Tagged , , , , ,

174 thoughts on “5 Things the 90s Tried to Convince Us Were Cool

  1. Lol, all so familiar. I remember the big chunky Spice Girl-like shoes were a hit, too.

  2. davemmr says:

    We used to make fun of our friends who wore the comically oversized jeans but then, after looking back at old pictures, I was shocked to see I was guilty of wearing baggy jeans as well. Granted, I wasn’t swimming in then, but they definitely were roomier than I needed.

    As for Vanilla Ice – we thankfully put him and his ilk in their place early in the decade (thank you, Nirvana).

  3. gracya says:

    they are still trying to convince us to 3d technology, since `90s if i remember properly…:)

  4. Lindsay says:

    Freaking awesome! I quite like teal, though. And baggy jeans are WAY better than those stupid skinny jeans people walk around wearing these days. Let’s bring back the 90’s! (minus those tribal tattoos!).

  5. HAHAHA……
    I would still, yeah, go for the baggy pants. I love them!

    http://www.regularteenageworld.wordpress.com

  6. My friends and I made one of those silly tapes to Ice Ice Baby … and I still have it!

    Love it. Baggy pants rocked…

    🙂

  7. […] Often, time is unkind. Ask Carrie Fisher. Cheap shots aside, looking back at the past, sometimes it’s hard to believe what was en vogue. This is evident if you ever had the displeasure of sitting through one of VH1’s numerous I Love the ___ shows.  I thought I would take a look back at the decade I grew up in, the 90s, to see what passed as cool, but was most definitely not. 5. Comically Baggy Pants In the early to mid 90s, other pizza-faced adol … Read More […]

  8. amberherself says:

    As a female growing up in the 90’s, I wasn’t subjected to the baggy jeans trend… but rather SCRUNCHIES. So glad that decade is long gone!

  9. Nick says:

    “Teal’s PR” — Lmao. As someone who also grew up in this fantastic decade, I’m co-signing on all of the above. Great post!

  10. beckyyk says:

    tribal tattoos!!

  11. Ha, ha. I’m laughing riotously as I pick up my pants in a vain effort to cover my tribal tattoo. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  12. Ginger says:

    Ha! Great post, I for one, coveted my collection of Jnco’s! I’ll be a total nerd and admit to kinda missing them, lol. The bigger the bottoms, the skinner your waist looked, and the extra big pockets… You could fit books in them. Okay, enough with my embarrassing confession! Cheers!

  13. Tricia says:

    Good God, were the 90’s ever awful. Definitely the Raver/Skater decade where I lived. Lets hope that there isn’t a revivial in 5 years, I really can’t take another generation of high schoolers wearing platform shoes and pacifiers.

  14. god there are scores of people in the world with a permenant tribal reminder of why they messed up in the nineties!

  15. So true, unfortunately SO true. I believe I may have owned a pair of the offensive JNCOs… I know for sure I had a big crush on JTT. Thanks for this, it’s nice to laugh at yourself. Congratulations on being FP.

  16. Cai says:

    XD Noooo! You went too far with the Ninja Rap. It’s still one of my guilty pleasures. As far as tv shows, the Wayans Bros was one of the best sitcoms of that decade, next to Seinfeld. AS for baggy pants, I always wanted a pair of JNCO’s but had to settle for Target brand over sized jeans.
    —-
    coyotestyle.wordpress.com

  17. pezcita says:

    Sigh, I pine for the ’90s! (Remember when stocks and employment rates just didn’t go down?) It was an era that encouraged us to dream big and be bold. Still, I’m glad to see the end of baggy pants and teal.

  18. tainambrown says:

    this. is. AWESOME. hahaha!

  19. critters and crayons says:

    the tribal tattoo almost looked cool- but a lot of women who were hot in their twenties had kids and now have some saggy tribals! Glad I didn’t follow the Pam Anderson trend armband tattoo trend. 🙂 Funny post-

  20. Posky says:

    I still see those poor tribal tattooed people on the streets, mourning their capricious decision in mid-1995.

  21. shuttersnapper says:

    The jeans I can live with but the orange satin shirt ….. ?

  22. ha ha ha! TRIBAL TATTOO just about killed me 🙂

  23. Great list! I had a 1991 teal CRX in the late 90s. That about sums it up. I do miss Ren and Stimpy though, but I’ll never go back to pants that baggy.

  24. i did used to love my wide leg baggy jeans :-p

  25. roberthenryfischat says:

    what about the petshop boys: it’s a sin.

  26. fireandair says:

    As a bona fide child of the 80s, I salute you. 🙂 I grew up with pants that were shaped like people.

  27. NK says:

    Wow. You nailed it. Like really.

  28. Ooh… the 90s…. the birth of Lollapaloza, must-see TV and grunge…. such memories… thanks! Fab post!

  29. Wow. Correct on all counts. Especially Home Improvement. Laugh track!

  30. stablebrenda says:

    Great observations, Burk. I do miss my elephant leg green pants with gold studs down the front seam.

    • Fannie says:

      Linda from NY // September 13, 2009 at 7:32 pm Linda, I’m not sure where I heard/read it. If you’re like me (and I *certainly* hope you’re not!) the head is swimming in a sea full of info and it’s hard sometimes to separate what’s real from what is#87&21#;t.I&n8217;ll see if I can find anything on this supposed counter protest.One thing’s for sure, though-the Patriots put ‘em all to shame yesterday!

  31. Laura4NYC says:

    Vanilla ice, that was a good one! 🙂
    Not to forget those spiky techno hair cuts the guys had (in Europe) and buddha-bracelets – tons of clingy pearls on your arms!

  32. Why did boys wear those baggy pants in the 90’s?? I never did get it. In fact, I remember being a kid and my friend and I took a pair of guy’s pants – she got in one leg and I got in the other. The pants were literally big enough for the 2 of us to wear. Ridiculous.

    Also, Vanilla Ice and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – awesome combination. Awesome.

    Great post and congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! 🙂

  33. Was that a squirrel on your pants?

  34. arcanewhisper says:

    Hahah, I was born in 94 and even I remember some of these things. I actually like teal, though. but not on a car. 😀

    • katyj94 says:

      I was born in 94, too. I remember a few of these things, but I remember more the cartoons (I grew up on Disney Pixar and VeggieTales), the light up shoes, and things like that. Personally I like teal…. on cars too. 🙂 It’s the perfect diplomatic color for those torn between blue and green ^.^

  35. rtik13 says:

    Despite how ridiculous all of these things seem in hindsight, I still really miss the 90s. 🙂

  36. I grew up in the 90s too. Some of that stuff does look really dumb now.

  37. gaycarboys says:

    LOL at the Maori comment. You’re right though. There is a fabulous ad http://www.ilikethenoise.com/work-examples/circulon-tvc-music.htm thaat’s always made me chuckle. It shows what happens about 60 years after they get the tatts. Thanks for the laugh:)

  38. allstarme says:

    Ha! This is so true.

  39. thesuownz says:

    I actually think Teal’s a nice color, you just have to mix it up well. As a detail color, ice breaker, not a theme tho.

  40. jesusgetstheglory777333 says:

    This is high quality work bro. Totally hillarious. I’m 29 years old and loved the 90’s. European Dance Music (Massive Attack, Aphex Twin, Orbital) was my favorite.

  41. Elizabeth says:

    And penny loafers, cuffed pants and stupid hairstyles!!! lol

  42. Elle says:

    Ah thank God pants like JNCO are no longer in style. Those were horrible! I must admit, my city hopped on the teal train (I’m from Jacksonville) and the color is still loud and proud here in town.

  43. CrystalSpins says:

    When I saw your first photo I was sure you were going to lament platform, chunk heels. Nice post.

    Crystal

  44. ‘Sure, there were a few gems such as Seinfeld and Frasier but for the most part, 90s network TV was full of schlock like Friends.’

    thank you for saying that my fellow of good taste!

  45. Hahahaha! Hilarious post!

    Congrats for being freshly pressed! Well deserved 🙂

    Edwin

  46. I eagerly await. says:

    HILARIOUS!

  47. Alessandro Paiva says:

    I definitely thought I was cool with those baggy pants! Wasn’t I?!?! 🙂 Mine were just like that.

  48. MaiElise says:

    Awsome;D Our shild hood was the bestXD Naat.. doh..

    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles!! ;D

    • Latricia says:

      October 21, 20b&pn1sp;&nbs2;8:50 pm by Wow! This could be one particular of the most beneficial blogs We’ve ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Magnificent. I am also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.

  49. […] 5 Things the 90s Tried to Convince Us Were Cool (via Burk Krohe: Writer) Often, time is unkind. Ask Carrie Fisher. Cheap shots aside, looking back at the past, sometimes it’s hard to believe what was en vogue. This is evident if you ever had the displeasure of sitting through one of VH1’s numerous I Love the ___ shows.  I thought I would take a look back at the decade I grew up in, the 90s, to see what passed as cool, but was most definitely not. 5. Comically Baggy Pants In the early to mid 90s, other pizza-faced adol … Read More […]

  50. hugomontenegro says:

    Leave the turtles out of this!

  51. Renee says:

    Thanks for sharing. I grew up in the 90s too. I had a Cavalier that was bright blue – ohh the memories. Congrats on being FP!

  52. Hey man, Kris Kross will still make ya JUMP…..JUMP! Ha ha good grief, who do you think recommended the K’s? And, does anyone else find it kinda cromagnum and sad that, Flava Flav who, started the ridiculous hat and sweat suit movement, is now on the VH1 reality show trainwreck?

  53. The “kids” shows from the 90’s were the best and they still are. They clearly took note of this considering they recently brought back a few of them! Great post, great points, and congrats on the FP!

  54. Ah, such truth! I’m reminded of Portlandia’s spoof “Dream of the 90s” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVmq9dq6Nsg They mention the tribal tattoos. 🙂

  55. Sharon says:

    I’m so embarrassed. I was old enough to know better. Nice post.

  56. I definitely got on the baggy jeans bandwagon. My parents would never let me have Jncos so I would find the baggiest jeans at Target and call it a day.

    For some horrific reason, I was sometimes jealous of the people who found jeans big enough that their feet couldn’t be seen. Just awful.

  57. OnNeptune says:

    My brother had a pair of Jnco jeans (which he thought was the shit)! When drawing pictures of my brother I would always draw big blue pants with a huge over-sized “J” on them. I’m sure he appreciates that now. Great post. But you forgot POGS and the many hours of entertainment they gave us 😉

  58. Lakia Gordon says:

    I hated the baggy look! So glad it went out of style. Although the skin tight skinny jeans doesn’t look any better lol

  59. I know. The 90’s was a delirious decade. Funny thing is it seemed like it would take forever for those super baggy jeans to go out of style. They finally have within the last five years.

    I remember Home Improvement came around the time of the ‘dysfunctional revolution’ in family sitcoms and aimed to be the ‘great functional hope’. Instead it turned out to be cookie-cutter by the new sitcom standards made by Roseanne, The Simpsons and Seinfeld.

    Yes, teal was a headache.

  60. TJ Johnston says:

    Another regrettable ’90s throwback: dot-com stock options. Does anybody have any, because i need to blow my nose?

  61. thesavvymua says:

    My fave ladies trend from the 90’s : I loved the baggy pants with the boxer waist band sticking up. To that add a sports bra, a flannel, and pale lipstick with dark lip liner. Priceless.

  62. tia says:

    Funny. And can’t forget the phase with yellow sunglasses!

    I grew up in the ’90s, too. But something tells me all of these things will make a comeback at one point. We just haven’t lived long enough to see it yet. ;]

  63. riri82 says:

    Haha! A great blog which appeals to my nostalgic side! Hey, you forgot ‘Married with Children’ !

    Keep them coming and if you can, check my blogs out x

  64. lukeaolson says:

    Jnco Jeans were so in!! So true! Great post!!

  65. I think rave culture and fashion experienced a mutation in the mass market as it trickled down. Hence the baggy jeans, vinyl pants, teal, and so forth.

  66. abichica says:

    ahhhaahahahahaha @ Vanila ice.. crazzy.. cool post..the 90s were some insane years.. 😀

  67. Don’t blame the 90’s entirely for Vanilla Ice. I think culpability must be spread through a few decades. The 60’s for spawning him. The 70’s for allowing him to hit puberty. The 80’s for his hair.

    Congrats on making Freshly Pressed!

  68. Tanya says:

    Yeah, I just stared at that tattoo pic for like 5 minutes because 1) I knew a guy in the 90’s who had (Still has, as they are tattoo’s), those exact two tats in the same spot. Just can’t remember what shoulder. Also, the girl in the background looks eerily like my roommate of the time. Which makes me think I may actually know the people in the photo. But I probably don’t, and I just need to go eat something to get my blood sugar back on track.

  69. I still, on occasion, bust out with a “Go ninja! Go ninja! Go!”. Especially when brushing my teeth. But my baggy pants have all been thrown away.

    And don’t forget Salute Your Shorts. Another great Nickelodeon show from the 90s.

  70. Ali says:

    How how true it is! Maybe even worse than the 80s!

  71. Jordan says:

    Hahaha! I remember all of these…. And wanting to be Mandy Moore. *redfaceembarrassment Congrats on being freshly pressed! 🙂

  72. beckony says:

    🙂 My dad had that same car. We loved that thing, though teal really is pretty darn ugly, especially when you have to wash the thing.

  73. Amanda Cadle says:

    You brought back some memories, most of them not so great, haha. The 90s was an awkward decade, just wait a few years when our kids come home asking for baggy jeans and a teal car…trends repeat every couple of generations.

  74. nlsthzn says:

    Ah the good old 90’s… RIP 🙂

  75. Teal has it’s place, but cars are not it. I hope you are not grouping Home Improvement with the bad sitcoms. Maybe not since you say you still watch it. I haven’t seen it for a long time, but I remember thinking it was much better than most sitcoms, and I appreciated the family friendly approach.

  76. tbelcheva says:

    🙂 Love it! You forgot to mention the shoes that go with the jeans on the picture! Over the top 90s LOL

  77. Ha! So true. My tragic childhood decade. All I can say is “at least it’s not the 80s”…

  78. you sure hit the nail on the head lol, but I disagree on the sitcoms; Friends is still awesome!

  79. Maggie says:

    Oh, how I hate tribal tattoos. This post made me laugh. Congratulations on getting Freshly Pressed!

  80. andee says:

    I totally had a teal car!

  81. Yasir Imran says:

    O, I hate this tattoo stuff.

  82. standup2p says:

    I am walking NYC last week in the 90+ heat and the women are down to spaghetti strap tops- which is sensible. And I notice several w/ full sleeve tats and even more ink across their backs and chests…. And they are 8 1/2 months pregnant…
    So I’m thinking what can a guy do to top this?
    Voluntary Castration?

  83. glitterlady says:

    Ice Ice baby 🙂 , But my baggy pants were gothic bondage pants… does that count as being apart of the sad trend?

  84. PiedType says:

    Cheer up, it gets worse. These things will come around again some day, and you’ll welcome them like scruffy old friends.

  85. livinglearningeating says:

    The only place teal looks okay is braces 😛

  86. nearlynormalized says:

    Never could understand all the bagginess and decorations….Oh Well, that is the clothes that is bought by the pound and sold at markets in around the world for 10 cents American.

  87. Sharvil says:

    HAHAHAHA. 😀 i never lived the 90s but i can imagine it now 😛

  88. primetimechuck says:

    I actually wore JNCO jeans… $50 dollars a pair on average and when you were through wearing them you had plenty of material to build a camping tent from you pants and few large sticks…. lol…
    I honestly wish i had a few pair around for when future children become teenagers…. maybe they can bring the style back! lol

  89. LukeR84 says:

    Aw man! I remember as a 7th grader vowing to ALWAYS wear baggy jeans. That definitely ended by 2000 or so.

    Also don’t forget that nasty royal purple/forest green combo, and their loyal friend, forming the unholy triumvirate, bright brass. My dentists office had brass light fixtures, some forest green ceiling, and a border featuring like a Paisley purple Tadpole with off-white accents.

    bleh.

    “thanks” for the memories!

  90. kat says:

    Ah-ha-ha! My husband has a tribal tattoo!
    But he blames it on Bud Light, not Coors Light.

  91. Ben says:

    You know, I never thought of “teal” as a 90s trend before, but you’re so right – that color was everywhere, especially in the early years of the decade. I remember lunchboxes and trapper-keepers liked to blend teal with that eye-blasting shade of magenta that was also everywhere.

    Also, I’ve got one more item for the list: rap-metal.

  92. Oh dear,
    I wore those pants…those shoes…temporary tribal tattoos…where were my friends?!
    Oh yeah, wearing the same thing.
    Thank God for high school uniforms and lack of cell phone cameras.

    Better than leggings with Ugg boots.
    -Heather
    Author of, “Til Death and I Part,” available on Amazon.com.

  93. bluesilver says:

    I actually like the color teal. I agree with the rest of the list, however

  94. mysoulforsale says:

    Okay, you’re making me feel very old right now… However, I must say that I’ve seen some kids out there lately wearing jeans and sweats every bit as large as what kids wore fifteen years ago. And they’re hanging even lower. One thing kids didn’t do in the 90s was tuck their shirts into their underwear… it’s a whole new level of stupid this time around. Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  95. Sharon McElwrath says:

    hahaha love this post! As soon as I saw the Jnco jeans it brought me back to the day when I used to wear them and the less expensive Lee Pipes…I was actually just talking to a friend of mine about Jnco jeans and how they used to be popular and she didn’t have a clue of what I was talking about. My husband and I still love Home Improvement and guess what…..I have a tribal tattoo…wow I really was a 90’s kid 🙂 thankfully, I never liked teal or Vanilla Ice so I guess I wasn’t too bad…thanks for the post!

  96. beaut says:

    I remember when I was in high school, I begged my mom to buy me those baggy “elephant” pants because it was the “it” thing in school during that time. My mom never bought me one cause according to her it’s ugly. I will forever thank my mom for not allowing me to be victimized by those ugly pants. Hahaha

  97. jsh0608 says:

    I’m guilty of liking the color teal. But I have grown and moved on and decided to stick to green. But I had everything teal…backbacks, trapper keepers, folders, anything was teal. I didn’t like and still don’t like the baggy pants…it’s so sloppy. Congrats on being FP!!! :0)

  98. Teal wasn’t that bad, was it? I had a teal car.
    Come to think of it, I think it was the last one on the lot tat I could have possibly wanted – despite the color…

  99. Casper says:

    FRIENDS! I still watch it =p
    What can I say I’m a 90s kid and as embarrassing as some things were I’m very proud to be a 90’s kid. The one thing I’m glad I never took a part of in was the excessive amount of hairspray used… good times. 😀

  100. lol, teal can be a nice colour, but I have to agree that it’s not the most flattering for any car nor in large doses.

  101. Sarah says:

    I had a teal dress for prom. My date was a gay guy who loved his little teal-dyed boutonniere. Loved the color so much that a couple years later I bought a teal car. I drew the line at getting a tribal tattoo, however. Even in the 90s, I had standards…and a sincere fear of pain.

  102. Matt S says:

    If I were doing the list, I probably would have added those horrible Gigapets that would start beeping every time it needed to be “fed” and would die if you ignored it. Also, I’d add “Power Rangers” because that show was truly God-awful.

  103. Stephanie says:

    It could have been worse. You could have been born just a few years earlier and have been stylin’ with MC Hammer in your parachute pants.

    My dad had a teal SUV. But the term SUV didn’t really exist yet in common parlance in the early 90s, do we just called it a “truck.” I think teal is making a comeback, especially now that you’ve just reminded everyone how much they move it.

  104. There’s so much to say about those nineties, the decade in which fashion imploded. Every trend after that became a tastefully disguised revision of every other decade. And how about those lift shoes with the square heels that made us look like we all needed a prescription from our podiatrist to wear them? And the high-waisted jeans? And those flannel shirts and overalls? Oh, god. You had to bring it up! BTW, I used to work at the Crystal Lake County Club. I think it was in the nineties…

  105. A few of my friends recently got booted from the Rob VanWinkle (read Vanilla Ice’s embarassing real name) show for chanting “go ninja” at him… I guess he’s too “hardcore” for all that funny now, sadness.

  106. ge says:

    ahh the tribal tattoos! you forgot grunge…? great post, nevertheless! cheers!

  107. Daniel says:

    “guys who can’t find Polynesia on a map and think the Maori is an SUV made by Subaru.” << the best part of your blogpost 🙂
    But it's so …true

  108. mirandagargasz says:

    They’ll be back. Bad fashion always recycles itself.

  109. Yep, I had a 1994 Saturn that was teal and I thought it was AWESOME! at the time. Leather seats and a sunroof too. But I had a lot of fun in the 90s. I’m just glad that everyone wasn’t carrying a tiny camera/video camera with email capability with them at all times while I was having that fun.

  110. People Need to Learn says:

    I still like the color Teal. My second car was Teal and I purchased that thing in the 2000’s.

    In the 90’s though, I wore overalls with one of the straps unhooked. I wore them a few times and my parents spent like $100 on them.

  111. Darrell Halk says:

    I am so glad I did not leave the 90’s with one of those cliche tribal tattoos. I did subject myself to those baggy pants, teal ocean pacific shirts and Vanilla Ice. Nice post.

    For a good book on high school in the 90’s check out http://www.norkbook.com

  112. Paul Henne says:

    Awesome

  113. Dan Bain says:

    Wait, baggy pants aren’t still a trend? Crap!

  114. baligins says:

    Baggy pants are the worst on the list in my opinion! I do like teal, though… Great post!

  115. Xelo McNulty says:

    My first car was .a 1996 teal Tempo

  116. maria ricci says:

    It’s true… I used to love the pants, I still keep some xd 1 or 2…

  117. Cliffietta says:

    I got a lot of understanding about the “WordPress, org, etc. from watching your video

  118. One thing I hated about the 90s were the totally limp scrunchie hairdos…totally messy and greasy looking with hair that basically hung there! So glad that we now embrace volume in hair styles, definitely makes us curly girls feel better!

    I do have to say though, I didn’t mind the baggy pants only because now a days it’s hard to find pants that fit properly if you have anything other than skeleton legs. Pants are waaayyyy to skinny now a days!

    http://colouredbeauty.wordpress.com

    • Marlee says:

      Jeg har et barnebarn som fik noget af det Lego i fÃgÂgdselsda¸sƒave for nylig, og hun er helt bidt af det … det ville jo være skønt at vinde sÃ¥dan en æske til hende

  119. Ms. NOYB says:

    Don’t forget Raves. Somehow standing in front of a speaker and doing copious amounts of ecstasy seemed really cool then. Wait…that’s apparently still cool. Nevermind.

    • Randi says:

      Rhodes can certainly get very busy in August. By what yo12u8&#7;re describing I’m thinking of Corfu. The main town is delightful and charming. Lots of great beaches, horseback riding, walking, sunsets. And it’s an easy island to get around by bus. If you’re sticking with Crete, Rethymno, Chania, and Paleochora (on the southwest coast) are all great and very walkable. Other islands to consider: Lesvos, Ikaria, Naxos, and Folegandros (great for walking). Good luck.

  120. susielindau says:

    Great overview. I wonder what we will say about this next decade??? I wrote about Boulder’s fashion today. It is not looking good for the whole country. Hahaha! It is getting very casual everywhere.
    Enjoyed your post! Congrats on being FP!

  121. yagerbabies says:

    hahah very awesome post! I totally remember all of those things, I even ended up with a second hand ‘teal’ car for my first as I was an 80’s baby. The pants were just wrong…but so right at the time lol 😀 great post

  122. I can’t even tell you how many tribal tattoo arm bands I saw last weekend on the Jersey shore. It was comical.

  123. ailikeskimaki says:

    Oversized pants and clown shoes….unfortunetly, the pants down under the ass is still around…shame.

  124. Olivia K says:

    Love this! I thought I was the only person who had ever seen the Cool as Ice movie. As for the sitcoms, one word: TGIF.

  125. milkthegoat says:

    Let’s not forget Sketcher’s chunky high-heel tennis shoes. My friend had them in red. My mom said I was too young. I was devo… but again, “you were right” mom and dad

  126. slobeachboy says:

    Interesting piece but perhaps you should change the title to “ 5 Things its hard to believe were ever cool in the 90’s”. The current title suggests that these things never actually became “cool” at the time. The truth is virtually everything that was considered cool by the in crowd at one time or another will always look dorky in retrospect ten or twenty years down the road. I’m sure twenty years from now people will look back and say, “what were we thinking” when speaking of today’s fashions. Of course there will always be those who will insist that they never really thought these things were cool even at the height of their popularity and we all pretty much know they are full of it.
    I have to admit that the super baggy jeans were a horrible look especially when worn with the crotch at knee level. Of course that fashion never actually went mainstream like the equally goofy looking bellbottoms of the 70’s. In the late 60’s and early 70’s nobody under thirty would be caught dead wearing straight-leg jeans. Very few subsequent fashions have been as all encompassing and mainstream as bellbottoms and we can all be thankful for that. As for the baggy pants they have not really gone away though (except to white kids) they are still an integral part of Hip-Hop fashion, or as I like to call it, Ghetto Fashion. And unfortunately although slim cut jeans are now “in” for the under 25, terminally underachieving, too cool for school crowd, they are still wearing them pulled halfway down to their knees.
    As for the TV shows of the 90’s there definitely weren’t as many great shows as today but you’re forgetting that the Simpson’s started in the 90’s which was one of the most well written satirical comedic shows of all time, and of course you already mentioned Frasier. By the way, I think laugh tracks went out by the 80’s. Of course I spent the first half of the 90’s in Tokyo Japan so I can’t really comment on the first part of that decade.

  127. hazelbrunswick says:

    Geez, I thought growing up in the 80s was bad! I managed to escape them without having worn legwarmers. Although I am guilty of acid wash and headbands. And perms. Lots and lots of perms.

  128. thisblindman says:

    Hey, I liked Friends.

  129. constantice says:

    ha! i lived through those times of Rave! Drinking and forgetting where i am waking up. My pants were big, even the waist is big that when i grew up, i now the pants in half and made it my shorts. So they’re baggy shorts now. Haha

    and oh yeah, i still love the Turtles. They made me follow and continue my career as a Martial Artists. Its just that, i dont like the new turtles now. 😛 im 27 going 28 and just starting to look for Martial Arts Competitions. ^_^

    Nice Post. Keep it up.

  130. Tiff says:

    Ha. I can’t get over the jeans and tribal tatoos. 🙂 Thanks for the chuckle.

  131. The 90’s were just as bad as the 80’s!

  132. Hilarious. My parents all went through that phase.

  133. Mèo Lười Việt says:

    I know this trend of baggy pants. It was popular in Vietnam too. After that was the trend of terrorist shoes initiated by Spice girls. Actually Vietnamese youth at that time affected a lot by trends in developed countries, both good and bad side. I myself just picked the good to learn, not the trend of free sex or one night stand like many other Vietnamese now! Awjc!!! 😀

  134. Oh the memories!! Not sure this is something I wanted to remember! Also what was big was strange clothes for women. Short tank-tops (not belly shirts) with ugly neon green and white flowers. So strange, so gross. So glad the 80’s and 90’s are over! Terrible fashion!
    http://thediaryofsugarandspice.wordpress.com/

  135. Ciiku says:

    HA! Ha! So true!
    I am a fan of teal though 🙂

  136. saramitchell says:

    I loved this!
    1) My ex had that exact same tattoo
    2)LOVED all those Nick kids’ shows
    3)Just started Arrested Development and I can’t believe I’ve never seen it before – so funny.
    4)I used to get so depressed because I couldnt have Jnco jeans. All the cool kids had them. What a horrible fashion trend is all I can say now.

  137. whatsaysyou says:

    Great post about living in the 90’s. I too grew up in the 90’s and trust me, Vanilla Ice was big there back then (his hit Ice Ice Baby sampled the tune from Queen and Bowie’s ‘Under Pressure’). Another mention of the 90s are Clueless and Twin Peaks

  138. M. K [Kohi] says:

    I have to disagree with the Vanilla Ice one, I’m kind fond of some of his songs (Ice Ice Baby being a hit then), because they’re catchy and fun with their ridiculousness 🙂

    But yeah, baggy pants… I remember those and Spice Girls shoes (the platform ones) too. Good times, haha

  139. Enjoyed reading this a lot… Cheers man!

  140. Haha I was a 90’s baby and look back on photos and wonder what the hell my mum was thinking. For the kids it was dungarees and I recall I had a lot of pea green as well as teal. The baggy trousers have made an appearance again this summer, this time lined with floral patterns. A bit of 80’s and 90’s combined! Beautiful ahah.

  141. Andrew Anisi says:

    In New Zealand, back in the 90’s a lot of people would wear ADIDAS Tear-away pants – something that was cool at the time, but now…. hmmmm

  142. mffanrodders says:

    I can’t believe that you didn’t mention the hair LOL.

  143. this is cute!! And yes, I still think tribal tattoo’s are sexy lol. HELP, I’m still stuck in the 90’s!!

  144. natasiarose says:

    I’m a loser so I still think all these things are cool. Except for Vanilla Ice, I’m a loser not a tool.

  145. slobeachboy says:

    Hey, everyone here seems to be overlooking the most moronic fashion trend of the 90’s which was wearing ones jacket pulled halfway down over your shoulders. Even at the time I thought this one was idiotic and never went in for it. I think it all started from that stupid “Counting Crows” video. Anyway luckily it did not last too long.

  146. theownerofthefingers says:

    hahaha..dont forget baggy shirt..waaay too baggy

  147. Amber's Attic says:

    LOVE this!
    ~Amber

  148. trialsinfood says:

    what about girl’s super high teased up bangs?

  149. Patty says:

    Pete and Pete was pure gold! The entire series (plus specials and shorts) have a fixed spot in my hard drive in spite of its being nearly at its bursting point. Oh! And I named my first pet Elvis in tribute to Clarissa Explains It All (even though a hamster was nowhere near as cool as a caiman).

  150. Jncos are the best!!! Along w/ Lee pipes! 😀 Never knew they were a fashion trend though, but I guess that makes since.
    & I agree! much better than the skinny jeans.
    Though they do work best for some.
    & I’ve never understood the tribal tattoos, but ppl. are still doin those.

  151. Jonah Harvey says:

    Haha…I’d take the baggy jeans over the skinny leg jeans that everyone seems to be wearing these days, any day. LONG LIVE THE 90’S!!!!!!!!!!

  152. In England we also had tracksuits with buttons/poppers all down the side…I have no idea why. I love laughing anything that people thought was cool at one point, it usually isn’t in retrospect!

  153. manu says:

    Well, in the early nineties, i had the little ring beard, long hair, the blocked shirt, short army trousers, black doctor martens and a head that constantly banged up and down when hearing Nirvana, Pearl Jam or Metallica.

    Manu
    Rancilio Silvia

  154. lol the comically baggy pants are still popular with ravers, or so I heard

  155. realanonymousgirl2011 says:

    Yeah I know someone who’s having their tattoo removed right now!

  156. Nicely put from a terrific blogger

  157. […] to:  https://burkpkrohe.wordpress.com Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  158. gry retro says:

    no i przeciez i tak nikt tego nie czyta… gry retro

  159. pete says:

    um people still wear super baggy pants especially the black community which is sad to see. this hasnt really gone away, in fact in some cities its all you ever see! terrible terrible. noone wants to see your freaking underwear!

  160. Amy Aderhold says:

    Ha!! I totally used to check out a library cassette tape of the soundtrack to The Ninja Turtles movie to psych me up to play Mario Brothers ONE lol! That’s right!!! And there is nothing wrong with Teal.

  161. aver says:

    We’ll be saying the same thing about American traditional style in 10 years

  162. When I found this site I proceeded to reddit to share it to
    other people.

  163. Lynsey says:

    AKAIK yo’vue got the answer in one!

Leave a Reply

