iTunes Oddities

I like music…and I have an obsessive personality. I don’t think a relationship between the two is uncommon, well, at least Nick Hornby books lead me to believe it’s not.

Because of this, I spend a lot of time examining my iTunes library, probably closer than necessary or even advisable.

I’ve made several observations over the past few weeks, and I feel compelled to share them with you fine citizens of the Internet.

Super 

If you scroll through the S section of my iTunes library, and by you I mean I because don’t touch my stuff, there are three bands with “super” in their names: Superchunk, Superdrag and Supergrass.

Superchunk

The connection goes even further, too. They’re all alt rock bands from the ’90s. I don’t know why, but I guess every fourth alt rock band in the ’90s was required to work super into its name.

However, it appears the trend stopped with the ’90s, much like trying to shoehorn teal into the colors of every expansion team in professional sports.

Loud Noises!

While I was scrolling through the S section, I found another odd coincidence concerning band names.

The Screaming Trees come right before Screeching Weasel. I know it’s not really a big deal, but I find it amusing that two bands who named themselves after yelling things that don’t typically yell ended up in that position.

*Actually, weasels may or may not screech, I don’t know I’m not a biologist. But there’s no way I’m opening another tab to find out.

Braaaaiiinnnsss

I had to dig a little more to make this connection. I have four songs in my iTunes library with the word “brain” in the title: “My Poor Brain” by the Foo Fighters, “Fix My Brain” by the Marked Men, “My Brain is Hanging Upside Down (Bonzo Goes to Bitburg)” by the Ramones and “My Brain Hurts” by Screeching Weasel.

What really struck me about this was how each song implies a kind of brokenness. Also, three of the four artists are punk  bands. Somehow, in some shape or form, I feel like that’s significant. Perhaps it says something about the type of people who are attracted to punk rock.

Sweet Caroline…Ba Ba Ba

This observation came a little more readily than the “brain” thing. I have two songs titled “Caroline” in my iTunes library, one by Concrete Blonde and the other by Jawbreaker. I also have one song titled “Kill Me Carolyne” by the Whigs.

That’s not the interesting part, though, because the name “Caroline” seems to appear often in pop music.

However, it is interesting that each is the third song on its respective album. That’s a damn weird coincidence.

Stupid Girl

I have two songs titled “Stupid Girl” in my iTunes library, and they couldn’t be more different.

One is a pop-punk song by Screeching Weasel and the other is an R&B and blues rooted song by the Rolling Stones.

I’m not sure what this says other than misogyny will not tolerate being held to one particular style of music.

Love is a… any noun you want

I was curious, so I searched all my songs for the term “love.” I found that I have 96 songs in iTunes library with some form of the word in the title.

Once I had the results, I decided to pick my top five songs of the 96. In no particular order they are:

  1. “I Love You so Much It’s Killing Us Both” by Jawbreaker
  2. “Let’s Hear it for Love” by Smoking Popes
  3. “La La Love You” by Pixies
  4. “I Love You” by the Zombies
  5. “I Don’t Even Care About the One I Love” by the Whigs
Honorable mention: “I Believe in a Thing Called Love” by the Darkness
Honestly, since it’s such a common theme in lyrics, I thought the number would be higher. I also thought the Cure or the Smiths would have made an appearance for sure.
I guess Robert Smith and Morrissey weren’t so blunt as to actually put the word “love” in the title of songs about unrequited love.
He Hate Me
Since I searched all my songs for “love,” I thought it would only be fair to search them for the term “hate.” Unsurprisingly, that search turned up far fewer songs–15 to be exact. Despite there only being 15, I picked my top five anyway.
  1. “Hate and War” by the Clash
  2. “Do You Still Hate Me” by Jawbreaker
  3. “I Hate the TV” by the Violent Femmes
  4. “Between Love&Hate” by the Strokes
  5. “Veronica Hates Me” by Screeching Weasel
Special shout out to Jawbreaker for being the only band on both lists.

Someday

I also have four songs titled “Someday” in my iTunes library, by Dr. Dog, the Marked Men, Middle Brother and the Strokes respectively. As far as I can tell, it’s the most duplicated song title.

Seeing as “someday…” is a pretty common turn of phrase, I’m not sure this discovery is all that spectacular. I’m slightly surprised at the quality of each song, though.

With four songs taking a similar tone and theme, I thought one was bound to fall flat. But I listened to each one a few times and can objectively say they’re all great.


Tagged , , ,

One thought on “iTunes Oddities

  1. mooreclick says:

    Caroline does seem to make a lot of appearances in pop music, but most of them aren’t nice. That Outkast one, the Clarks’, Old Crow Medicine Show. Everyone sort of assumes I must hate the Neil Diamond one, but it’s actually the only positive one I know.

    Upon searching, I’ve only got one song with Brain in the title, but it’s also a punk band. Maybe there’s something to your theory…

Leave a Reply

