Undercover

I thought I’d put together a list of some of my favorite cover songs.

The Afghan Whigs- The Clash’s “Lost in the Supermarket”

I couldn’t think of a more perfect Clash song for them to cover.

The Goo Goo Dolls- Prince’s “Never Take the Place of Your Man”

This is when the Goo Goo Dolls ruled.

The Jam- Wilson Pickett’s “In the Midnight Hour”

There are a thousand covers of this song, but this is the best one.

Teenage Fanclub- Bob Dylan’s “Mr. Tambourine Man”

It was more famous as a Byrds song and I can’t think of a better band to cover this song.

The Rolling Stones- Buddy Holly’s “Not Fade Away”

The Beatles famously paid homage to Holly but the Stones were fans as well.

Screeching Weasel- The Ramone’s “Chainsaw”

Screeching Weasel have probably covered most of the Ramone’s catalog at some point, but this is there best effort.

Blink 182- Screeching Weasel’s “The Girl Next Door”

I’d love to know how Ben Weasel feels about this.

Gaslight Anthem- Hot Water Music’s “Trusty Chords”

I don’t think they’ve ever recorded this but they play it live and I want so badly to see it.

Hot Water Music- Alkaline Trio’s “Radio”

I love both these bands. Blew my mind when I found this.

Alkaline Trio- The Violent Femmes “I Held Her in my Arms”

A severely underrated song.

Rancid- NOFX’s “Stickin in my Eye”

One of the first cover songs I really liked.

The Black Keys- The James Gang’s “Funk 49”

Just plain badass

Lars Frederiksen and the Bastards- Billy Bragg’s “To Have and Have Not”

For the longest time I had no idea this was a cover. Imagine my surprise when Billy Bragg became my favorite singer song writer years later.

Lucero- Jawbreaker’s “Kiss the Bottle”

This is a favorite song among Jawbreaker fans so to cover it is to roll the dice. I wasn’t sure about it at first, but it’s grown on me.

Face to Face- Jawbreaker’s “Chesterfield King”

I heard the cover before the original, but the cover made me seek out the original. For that, I’m eternally grateful to Face to Face.

Dr. Dog- Architecture in Helsinki’s “Heart it Races”

The one time I’ll declare the cover is definitely better than the original.

Leave a Reply

