Goodbye to You

So it’s been a while.

Sorry to the handful of people who actually looked forward to updates from my blog. However, after more than five years (and four times on the front page of WordPress), this blog seems to have run its course.

It was probably around two and half years ago that my blogging really started to take a nosedive. I was working garbage hours (around 4-5 in the afternoon to midnight or later) as a copy editor in North Carolina. Gradually, I started to realize that I didn’t really like what I was doing, and I didn’t care much for the town I was living in.

Killer combination.

I decided to make a change and moved to St. Louis. This very blog actually helped me get the new job more than my experience in journalism. I’ve been working for an online publisher, and when I started, I was writing content all day every day.

That’s when I realized that what I was doing when I started the blog was, at the time, somewhat unique. I was a pretty dedicated reader of Cracked and decided to do a more personal version of what they were doing. Fast forward five or six years, it seems like everyone is doing the listicle thing.

I don’t think it’s necessarily a bad thing. Obviously people like to consume content that way. However, I didn’t feel as if my blog would really stand out anymore. The marketplace is flooded.

I started formulating a plan for a new site. I wanted to do a food and travel site. I learned to cook over the years, and I truly love it. I also started making enough money (and have enough vacation days) to really start traveling.

However, I also knew food blogs are a dime a dozen. While restaurant reviews and recipes were still on the table (puns!) for me, I also wanted to do more—to offer thoughtful and funny essays about food and traveling.

It basically took a year to get everything together. Anyway, that long preamble is my way of saying I hope you’ll read my new venture, Arcade Kitchen!

I also have Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts that I hope you’ll follow and like as well!

Goodbye! It’s been real, and this community has been wonderful! But it’s time for something new!

Leave a Reply

